Testimonials & Reviews

5/5
The Hammett Clinic -  - Neurology

The Hammett Clinic

Neurology Specialists & Aesthetics located in Columbia, SC

21 total reviews

The Hammett Clinic always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 21 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about The Hammett Clinic below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Courtney F.
Submitted 01/14/20
Dr. Hammett is so wonderful!
John W.
Submitted 01/08/20
I’ve suffered from severe migraines for the past 15 years and have seen many different doctors in search of relief from the debilitating daily pain. About two years ago I had resigned myself to simply dealing with the daily pain, and then I made a life changing decision - I made an appointment with Dr. Hammett. During my first appointment, Dr. Hammett spent 30 minutes going through my lengthy headache history and talking about what medications I had tried. By the end of the appointment, he came up with a personalized treatment plan that included preventive medications/treatments and rescue medications. I walked out feeling for the first time like someone had actually listened to and understood my problems. Over the next few months, we were able to find a medication regimen, coupled with Botox treatments, that significantly reduced my migraines and my daily tension headaches. My quality of life has increased SO much over the last two years because of Dr. Hammett. When the new CGRP drugs were approved, Dr. Hammett added Ajovy to my treatment protocol, which has continued to help. That is the type of personalized care you will receive at The Hammett Clinic, as Dr. Hammett is always suggesting new and cutting edge treatments to help alleviate his patients' pain. What more can you ask for? On top of that, he owns the practice with his awesome wife Avra. You don’t have to deal with the bureaucratic nightmares that come along with hospital or corporate owned medical practices. Instead, you get the personalized care from a family-owned practice. And I must also mention that his staff is out of this world. From scheduling to billing to nursing, you simply can't beat the quality of his staff. I've found my neurologist for life, and if you're suffering from headaches, please do yourself a favor and make an appointment. It will change your life.
Leslie W.
Submitted 11/10/19
What a wonderful treatment experience with The Hammett Clinic. Dr. Hammett and Emily were very attentive and explained everything to me. Thanks to Dr. Hammett, Emily and the staff. Recommend the Hammett Clinic for all your needs.
Gabrielle A.
Submitted 11/07/19
I had a wonderful experience with this clinic. The staff was friendly and took time to talk to me in detail about everything which I appreciated . Dr Hammett was easy going and very personable . I would recommend to others without hesitation.
Trena S.
Submitted 11/06/19
Dr David Hammett has truly saved my life. I appeared in his office after having been severely mistreated by another neurologist. He walked in to find me sobbing, ice packs on my head, and void of hope. I was at the point of giving up!! He was compassionate, comforting, and most importantly? HE LISTENED--closely. He told me what he felt may be going on and told me there was a simple and inexpensive test that would confirm it. Within 15 minutes, I was laughing and completely pain free! I could not believe it! I walked out a different person. I have now been a patient for several years and while my treatment is ongoing, since my case is complex with several neurological issues, I would have zero quality of life if I had not been led to him by pure chance. It is my hope that someone else sees this and that this is what may lead them his way, to change YOUR life. There is hope!! This is a family owned practice where they truly love and care for their patients. His wife, Avra, is simply amazing and together they are the Dream Team!!! I am thankful every day that I stumbled upon The Hammett Clinic!!
Marie W.
Submitted 11/05/19
Dr. Hammett, his wife Avra, and the rest of his attentive staff, are an impeccable team. There was no question that couldn’t be answered! I am thrilled with my results and look as young as I truly feel because of it. I’ve always been weary of dermal fillers and after my visit with Dr. H and his lovely team, I am hooked and plan to return for regular maintenance. I never knew I could look this incredible at my age with such subtle, yet firm results.
Lori Beth R.
Submitted 10/28/19
I've seen at least five neurologists to treat chronic migraines. Dr. Hammett goes above and beyond to not only listen to patient feedback, but to create a treatment plan that works YOU as an individual. If that is not working, then he will think outside of the box and try unconventional methods to try to make life as pain free as possible for migraine sufferers. Dr. Hammett does not sugarcoat things, but he absolutely WILL work with you and listen to your suggestions as to what works/doesn't work for you as an individual. He is unlike any specialist I have ever seen. Instead of working ABOVE you as a specialist, he works WITH you. I highly recommend this practice.
Helen K.
Submitted 10/23/19
I went in for my routine sphenocath with Dr. Hammett. But when I went in, I was having major issues with my right shoulder which was bringing on multiple migraines. Dr. Hammett went the extra mile with me. He gave me a couple trigger point injections to elevate my pain. He knew I would be driving the next day for a minimum of 5 hours to help my daughter in college. I know of no other doctor who would do this. They would make you schedule another appointment and only do one procedure at a time even though the two procedures don't interfere with each other. I will never go to another neurologist. Dr. Hammett is awesome!!
Carissa F.
Submitted 10/06/19
I suffered a severe Traumatic Brain Injury in 2016. When I was discharged from the Trauma ICU, I received a plethora of literature about "Life with a Traumatic Brain Injury," and one follow up CT scan. The literature was very helpful, being that I could not see at that time. I went to my follow up CT appointment; I was still alive, so that was that. My Psychiatrist and PCP told me that I had to go to a neurologist, and it had to be Dr. David Hammett. I followed their directions. MY LIFE HAS BEEN CHANGED EVER SINCE. I was able to get into The Hammett Clinic within a week . Dr. Hammett met with me and then he ordered an MRI. What is an MRI you say? I do not know because there has not been a doctor in 1.5 years to ever help me and go the extra minute to figure out what is going on. Three days later we met again and I was informed of everything. Dr. Hammett explained everything to me in great detail, in which, I fully comprehended. Dr. Hammett reassured me that all of my symptoms directly correlated with my MRI. Dr. Hammett sprung into action and I stayed in the office with him until after 9:30PM to create my treatment plan. Life has been amazingly better since the day I walked into The Hammett Clinic. Dr. David Hammett is still my #1, extremely talented, neurologist. I also have a WONDERFUL Wellness and Aesthetic Medicine Clinician, Ms. Avra. I do not know what I would do without them. They are both brilliant and most importantly very efficient with my time, money and care. I highly recommend them because of my experiences. They are family owned, independent specialists whom treat you. and your wallet, with love. I hate that I am writing this randomly today, because I want them all to myself. I cannot be a hypocrite when I tell my students that sharing is caring.
Leslie R.
Submitted 10/03/19
I’ve been curious about having Botox done for awhile and I’m so glad I finally followed Avra’s recommendation for it. Dr. Hammett was very gentle and patient with me (as someone who is terrified of needles this was greatly appreciated!) and Avra was right on hand with an ice pack so I hardly felt a thing. Now, I t’s been almost a week and I am THRILLED with the results. My lines on my forehead have disappeared and I can honestly say I feel like I look like a teenager again! Thank you, Dr. Hammett and Avra for making this an experience I’ll continue to upkeep!
Pat C.
Submitted 10/01/19
Dr. Hammett is the most caring doctor I know. He looks you in the eyes and truly listens to you and your concerns. He really wants to help you. He treats you like an individual and not a number.
Robert B.
Submitted 09/09/19
Always accommodating and knowledgeable about neurology and cosmetics! Columbia Metro has named Dr. Hammett a Premier Physician for a reason!
Robert B.
Submitted 08/13/19
Dr Hammett was a great help for me to manage my restless legs syndrome and has been invaluable treating my wife and daughter for migraines. He takes the time to listen to you and is very thorough. It’s obvious that he is fully devoted to providing the best possible care for his patients.
Dottie G.
Submitted 07/15/19
My first visit with Doctor Hammett was many years ago in Rock Hill. I suffered extremely with terrible headaches, I really wanted to die. He saw me that day, and he said right away,"you r in alot of pain aren't you, I'm going to help you today. "He did. I had headache 24/7, now I rarely have a headache. He's a good Christian man that loves helping people. I really don't know what I would do without him. Looking forward to meeting Avra, she's got to be a special lady. Dottie
Alison R.
Submitted 07/12/19
I highly recommend The Hammett Clinic for all neurology and cosmetic needs. The clinic being co-owned by an exceptional husband and wife team that always pay special attention to detail is very hard to find these days. Dr. Hammett’s and Avra’s extensive education and experience make you super comfortable and I truly cannot imagine going anywhere else. If you do not live in Columbia, it’s worth the trip. Thank you Dr. Hammett, Avra and your hardworking staff for making me feel right at home at THC!
Barbara B.
Submitted 06/12/19
I always have a great experience with Dr Hammett. He listens to my needs and offers treatment's accordingly. I have been going to Dr Hammet since he came to Columbia. He's number one in my book. I feel we were lucky to have such a wonderful neurologist that specializes in migraines. He has been a great help for me.
Brooke E.
Submitted 06/11/19
Dr. Hammett and Avra truly treated me like a VIP from the beginning to the end of the visit. They made sure I was comfortable, answered all of my questions, and I am thrilled with the results!! As a first timer with Botox I was very nervous but they made the overall experience excellent and I will definitely be back!
Kathy B.
Submitted 06/11/19
Dr. Hammett is a rare gem in the medical world of specialists. He sincerely cares about his patients, and goes over and beyond to find treatments to help them be pain free. Thank you Dr. Hammett !
Stephanie G.
Submitted 06/11/19
Dr. Hammett and his staff are very personable and always keep me informed. I would trust no one else with the care of my brain.
Pat C.
Submitted 06/11/19
I absolutely love Dr. Hammett. He is so kind and compassionate. Ho goes above and beyond to help me get results for my chronic migraine. I would highly recommend him! Pat Cassels